Skip to content
June 2, 2012 / CB

I Am Not Bugs Bunny

Photo by Keith Allison, via Wikimedia Commons

So, you know that Bugs Bunny cartoon where he plays baseball by himself, fielding all the positions?  First Base, Bugs Bunny…Second Base, Bugs Bunny…  That’s how my life has felt of late.  Physically, emotionally, even spiritually, I’ve been dashing all over the field.  It’s not so much that I’m being pulled hither and yon, rather I’m running to get there in time.  As I sprint about, I’ve come to a realization: I am not Bugs Bunny.  Nor, to state the even more obvious, am I God.

With what feels like a mountain of unanswered questions in my life, I’ve been trying desperately to come up with answers.  I’m applying for jobs, exploring options, and asking questions of people who have little to say in return.  It’s frustrating, exhausting, and leaves me a little desperate at times.  One recent evening, when I was feeling especially overwhelmed, this verse came into my head: Be still, and know that I am God.  I looked at it, turned it over in my mind, and found that I could breathe.

How much did I need to hear those words?  Be still.  Forget all the clichés about the information age, I have been in near constant mental motion.  Even speaking the words aloud slowed my heart rate and let me take a deep, cleansing breath.  For that moment, I could feel the anxiety slough off like mud beneath clean water.  Then came the second half of the sentence, “know that I am God.”  And since there’s only one God, that means I’m not really in charge of any of this.  I can’t control the outcomes of my actions, only the effort which goes into them.  I can play the position I’ve been given and field the ground ball hit my way, but the instant I release the throw to first, it’s out of my hands.  I can’t alter the direction of the wind, the speed of the runner, or the skill of the first baseman.  I have to leave those to God.

So, I’m resolved to be a little more focused on what I can control and a little less worried about what I can’t.  I’m not always successful, mind you, but I think I have slowed enough to remember that I can’t do the things God can.  I can only be me, put in my best effort, and trust that He will keep His promises.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brian in Baltimore / Jun 2 2012 11:58 pm

    Good thoughts, Chris. “Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down”, says King Solomon in Proverbs (12:25). I’ve been there. Ugh. Too many times. I don’t have a kind word to cheer you up, to paraphrase the rest of that proverb, other than keep on being still!

    (by the way, this is Brian, the guy who helped carry the mic stands and books over the other day!)

    • CB / Jun 4 2012 7:10 pm

      Thanks! I like the quote from proverbs. It’s a good reminder, which probably what I need. I don’t think I’m quite so dour as my recent writing suggests. Maybe I should do a post about puppies or unicorns or something.

  2. Karen / Jun 13 2012 10:12 am

    It’s very liberating to just let God take care of things, isn’t it? We are such children to be running ahead and getting into things without allowing Him to direct us. Please don’t write about unicorns. 🙂

Leave a Reply

